Canadian NewsstandThis database offers the full text of many leading Canadian news sources via the ProQuest Interface.Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies provides full access to articles, columns, editorials and feature articles.Database content is updated daily, following a two-day embargo period.
CBCA Current EventsThis collection includes Canadian titles focusing on current events. Current events is interpreted broadly to include politics, business, the arts, sports and any other kind of news, whether happening in Canada or abroad. Newspapers, newswires, newsmagazines, as well as television and radio transcripts constitute the titles in the subset.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This award-winning, full-text electronic reference tool is based on the well established and respected print version of Canadian Periodicals Index. CPI.Q includes a wealth of material from Canadian and international periodicals dealing with Canada, such as feature articles from the Globe & Mail, Maclean's, Canadian News Facts, and encyclopaedic reference materials such as Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers.
Factiva (1969 to current) Factiva.com combines the Dow Jones Interactive® and Reuters Business Briefing databases and provides access to news from over 8000 sources, available from 118 countries in 22 languages.There are 96 Canadian publications including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Extensive company and industry search capabilities are available.
Facts on File: World News Digest (1940-current) Facts on File; World News Digest is updated weekly. This database provides concise news summaries of world events that are distilled from more than seventy-five newspapers, periodicals, journals and government on-line sources. It features charts and graphs of complex statistical information, maps and photos of places and people in the news; biographies of major news figures; monthly financial updates; statistics on sports, census findings, business, and other areas of interest, background boxes for historical context; chronologies of long-running stories; primary source documents; transcripts and excerpts of legislation, Supreme Court decisions and important speeches; and year in review listings of the year's most important stories.
ISI Emerging MarketsProduced by Internet Securities Inc. this database covers over 40 countries primarily from Eastern Europe, Asia and Latin America.The information it contains is collected from a large number of sources in a variety of formats and languages and can include: macroeconomic forecasts and statistics; company and industry data and current political and economic news.The content is updated continuously with an archive dating to c1994.
LexisNexis AcademicThis flagship service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Areas of interest include:
National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources ; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789 ; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Archive includes abstracts of daily news from ABC, CBS and NBC since 1968 and daily news from CNN since 1995. Also included are special news broadcasts covering political conventions, presidential press conferences and segments from ABC's Nightline since 1968. The CNN broadcast summaries are accompanied by online CNN video that can be viewed using the RealOne media player. This is an excellent source of information for the study of U.S. politics and recent history, as well as for those studying the practice of television journalism.